Waiting Period & Vet Visit

Why Have a Waiting Period?

The waiting period exists to prevent fraud and is required for all newly enrolling pets or new pets being added to an existing policy.

All Embrace policies have a 14-day waiting period for illnesses. Waiting periods for accidents are either 48 hours or 14 days, depending on your state of residence [1]. All dogs have a 6-month waiting period for orthopedic conditions. The good news is that you can reduce the waiting period for orthopedic conditions to 14 days by following the Orthopedic Exam and Waiver Process.

All waiting periods start on the date your policy becomes effective. Conditions that occur during the waiting period are not covered.

An Example of How the Waiting Period Works

If you purchase a policy on January 1st at lunchtime, your policy becomes effective on January 2nd. Your waiting periods are as follows:

What If I Make A Claim During the Waiting Period?

Unfortunately if your pet has a health issue during the waiting period then your claim will not be covered, even if it was an unforeseeable emergency.

Required Vet Visit

In order to satisfy your policy terms and conditions, your pet needs to have been seen by a licensed veterinarian in the past 12 months and you need to have access to the exam record. If not, you must visit your veterinarian within the first 14 days of your policy before coverage begins. Currently Embrace does not need immediate proof of this exam; however, we may ask for it in the future, especially when processing claims.



[1] State accident waiting periods
48 Hours:  Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
14 Days: Alaska, District of Columbia, Florida, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia